Comparison Trap Week One Day One 

I am doing the Comparison Trap: A 28-Day Devotional for Women written by Sandra Stanley. Now although the devotional was written for women to finish in 28 days I’m going to do this at my own pace and share what I discover from the devotional.

Week One

Main Scripture: 

Ecclesiastes 4:4-6 

I have seen that every labor and every skill which is done is the result of rivalry between a man and his neighbor. This too is vanity and striving after wind. The fool folds his hands and consumes his own flesh. One hand full of rest is better than two fists full of labor and striving after wind.

Day One
Video Highlights By Andy Stanley 

1. Comparison drives a wedge between relationships.

2. There is no win in comparison. 

3. People determine where they are based on where everyone else is.

 I so agree that comparison drives a wedge between relationships.  I’ve been thinking about this for a while and I have concluded that when we compare ourselves to others it also leads to competitiveness. We end up striving to either be where that person is or to be better than they are. 

You can never win by comparing yourself to others. There will always be someone better at something or someone not as good as you. The goal should be to be where the Lord wants for us and to be content there. Philippians 4:11

The third highlight was an eye opener for me. Basing success at any level there is a tendency to look around at like people and measure your success. That is such a no no. Our measuring device for success is the word of God. How do we measure up in God’s eyes should be our concern. 

Day One from Devotional

Scripture: 1 Corinthians 13:4

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast it is not proud. 

That was very convicting for me because you think you’re not comparing yourself but often you are. 

When asked the challenge question, I had to admit that I had fallen for the comparison trap.  I did realize that yes I had been comparing myself to someone and secretly was glad when it didn’t seem like whatever they were doing was successful. How ugly of me is that? So my prayer to the Lord  was this, “All I can say today is Lord forgive me.”

 Then my action plan is to purposely be kind to the person and genuinely rejoice at their success. 

Comparison really is a trap that we must avoid.

Challenge 

I can be kind to ________ by _________

Example: I can be kind to my husband by asking him about his day before I tell him about mine. (Comparison Trap by Sandra Stanley Page 15)

Leave a comment